Return to Headlines

Six local students named National Merit Scholars

View PDF

Six Alachua County Public School students are among 2500 students nationwide to win a National Merit Scholarship this year.

The $2500 scholarship is awarded to students who have already been named National Merit finalists based on their college entrance exam scores, awards and honors, leadership activities, teacher recommendations and other criteria. Thirty-nine local students were named finalists this year.

According to the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), which runs the program, scholarship winners are selected based on having “the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills and potential for success in rigorous college studies.”

The local winners include Angela Chen, Erick Jiang, and Xiya Zhou from Buchholz High School and Rachel Parks, Atharva Pathak and William Wang from Eastside High School.

National Merit finalists are also eligible for scholarships sponsored by corporations and by colleges and universities. Timmy Li of Buchholz High School was selected as a corporate scholarship winner in April.

College-sponsored scholarship winners will be announced in June and July.