District Advisory Council Approved Minutes November 20, 2024, 4:00 p.m.

MEMBERS John Alexander Taylor Gilfillan Alvarez Tarver Jessica Bartnick Karen Grater PRESENT: Amy Trask Carolina Currea Kate Lafler Keith Watts Jeff Wilkinson Kate Dumoulin Divonne McGraw Brandy Oldman Asia Williams Chad Essary

Evelyn Foxx Kelly Shiohira

MEMBERSJulie BrownMeredith NappyNatalie StrappyABSENT:Eric BakerStacie OvenarteGail Watson

Megan Floyd Hannah Reynolds Azadeh Vakilzadeh

Jared Howard

BOARD MEMBERS: Kay Abbit, Tina Certain, Thomas Vu

DISTRICT STAFF: Will Spillias, Staff Attorney

Jackie Johnson, Communications Director Patty Underwood, Communications Office

CALL TO ORDER/ Meeting was called to order at 4:02 by Jackie Johnson, Director of Communications.

WELCOME: Self-introductions were made by all present.

SUNSHINE LAW: Attorney Will Spillias reviewed the Sunshine Law, giving a brief overview about

appropriate communications between DAC members and between DAC members and other

citizens. This was followed by questions and discussion.

SELECTION OF CO-CHAIRS:

Discussion began on the process of nominating co-chairs and whether it would be two or three co-chairs this year. Nominations were accepted:

John Alexander

Diyonne McGraw – Declined nomination

Taylor Gilfillan Keith Watts Amy Trask

Motion by Evelyn Foxx, seconded by Diyonne McGraw

Passed

To close the nominations.

Motion by Evelyn Foxx, seconded by Diyonne McGraw

Passed

To have two co-chairs this year due to reduce scheduling conflicts and other issues.

Paper ballot voting began with each member writing two names on paper. The first round resulted in the election of Taylor Gilfillan for one of the co-chair positions and a tie for the other co-chair position.

A second paper vote was conducted resulting in the election of Keith Watts as the second co-chair.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

Keith Watts, Co-Chair, called for the approval of the 3/26/24 minutes.

Motion by Amy Trask, seconded by Kelly Shiohira To approve the minutes of 3/26/24.

Passed

Keith Watts, Co-Chair, called for the approval of the 4/25/24 minutes.

Motion by Amy Trask, seconded by Alvarez Tarver To approve the minutes of 4/25/24.

Passed

REVIEW OF BYLAWS:

Jackie Johnson presented proposed bylaw changes for discussion with the membership. The changes would specify who would be able to substitute for an absent member and their voting privileges.

Motion by Karen Grater, seconded by Evelyn Foxx To approve the following changes the the bylaws.

Passed

Item #6

If a DAC member who is also a SAC chair is unable to attend a meeting, the SAC vice-chair from the same school may attend and vote. Their participation will count towards a quorum.

If a DAC member who is also a SAC chair is unable to attend a meeting, the SAC vice-chair or other representative from the same school may attend and vote. Their participation will count towards a quorum.

The DAC member who will be absent is expected to notify the district liaison. It will then be the district liaison's responsibility to notify the full DAC membership of the change for the upcoming meeting.

If a DAC member who represents a School Board member is unable to attend a meeting, the Board member may send a substitute. That substitute will be able to vote, and their vote will count toward a quorum.

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS:

A discussion was held on determining the issues the DAC would review/discuss.

Motion by Amy Trask, seconded by Carolina Currea To have anyone with a topic or idea to submit to Jackie Johnson within the next two weeks in order to be submitted for the next agenda.

Passed

NEXT MEETING: January 15 @ 4 p.m. – District Office Conf. Room E

ADJOURNMENT: Motion to adjourn by Carolina Currea, seconded by Kelly Shiohira Passed